When A Big Umbrella Just Won’t Do

As I have mentioned once before, I am a mere amateur when it comes to economic principles and theory.  I spent much of my life thinking that you had to have money to think about money.  Hence, I spent very little time pursuing a basic understanding of economics.

With that said, whenever I can bring myself to listen to the talking heads of government or even the economic understanding of the average guy on the street it can feel a bit like skydiving.  We’re all in a plane at 10,000 feet getting ready to make our jump.  I don’t know the first thing about skydiving, and yet I look around and realize that no one else is even wearing a parachute.  I may not know all the intricate details of aerodynamics, packing a chute, altitude levels, etc., but even I can foresee a thrilling fall and a big, ugly mess at the bottom.

Last year I made it my goal to read one good economic book, which happened to be Biblical Economics by R.C. Sproul Jr.  This year I am going to attempt to read two: Economics in One Lesson by Henry Hazlitt and The Creature from Jekyll Island by G. Edward Griffin.

Maybe if enough of us start taking this area back under the rightful rule of Christ, then we won’t find ourselves knee deep in the casualties of worldly thinking about this subject.  More importantly, we can teach our children to think better than we do in regards to material goods.

I recently came across some good resources for further study here and a mind-blowing graphic of our government’s current economic freefall here.  Have fun!

Leave a Reply

