Frail Hearts Need Mighty Fortresses

“For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation.
He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken.”

This passage, taken from Psalm 62, has been a favorite of mine since I was a young whippersnapper. It is as true today as it was then. The storms are a little fiercer, the burdens a little heavier, and the enemies a little scarier; but the rest still comes, the salvation remains, and the Fortress holds firm. The unrest and unsteadiness I experience (all too often in my opinion) comes when my confidence in God wanes. The Rock does not falter, but my faith often does. How many times would I have succumbed to the onslaught of life if faith was mine to preserve and protect.

Thankfully, the High King of Heaven does not give the precious gift of faith to His children only to allow their tender hearts to be pillaged and raped by sin, worldliness, and the Evil One. We are secure because He is sovereign. We can rest because He never grows weary. We can fight because He has conquered.

One thought on “Frail Hearts Need Mighty Fortresses

Leave a Reply

