Slow Rise

I am no baker, but I know that leaven spreads through dough very slowly. And although it spreads slowly, it also spreads with certainty and completeness. Given time the dough will rise up to its fulness. Just as our Lord promised that the kingdom established by God through the gospel will be like leaven in the world, so the sanctifying effect of the gospel has been like leaven in my own heart. I do not doubt its power to save to the uttermost. The difficulty for me lies in the slowness of the work. There is a reason that patience is one of the fruits of the Spirit. It is a heavenly virtue. Patience requires great faith and faith is a gift of God.

My struggles often come in the kneading process. I move back and forth from impatience to indifference; sometimes groaning or grasping for growth and other times resigned to present conditions. Whether grasping for more or settling for less the Lord desires to give His people patient faith. God is working in me a great salvation! God is working in the world a great restoration! May I love to be worked out and folded in by the kneading hands of God. He will raise us up at the proper time to a glorious reality. “The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.”- 2 Peter 3:9 

One thought on “Slow Rise

  1. I needed to read, see, and absorb those nuggets of truth. Joesph your are an amazing messenger and steward of God’s word. I am so grateful and blessed to read your posts. They always seem to pertain to something I am feeling or going through.

Leave a Reply

