Are You Not of More Value Than They?

Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? –Matthew 6:26

God delights in providing for His little children, but I do not always delight in being the tiny sparrow in His hand or the fragile flower in His field. Vulnerability is to me like fine clothing on a small child. There is a discomfort and unfamiliarity to it that resists a true appreciation of its worth.

Humility is not so much a looking away from myself as it is seeing myself as I really am. It is not a loss of identity but an awareness of my true identity. God is constantly pulling me lower that He might raise me higher. Deep roots grow tall trees. Do I recognize today that I am loved by my Father? Do I see my value and worth through His eyes? Will I grow into the clothes He has given me and develop a taste for the food He sets before me?

Leave a Reply

