Running the Race in the Middle of the Pack

It’s hard for me to come to terms with just how dependent I am on the grace and generosity of others. Whether it is from my wife, from friends and family, or simply casual acquaintances, much of what I am able to provide and accomplish flows through other people. I am a poor specimen for the pursuit of the American dream!

The words of the Apostle Paul could not be truer for my life. “What do you have that you did not receive? If then you received it, why do you boast as if you did not receive it?” (1 Cor. 4:7) Rugged individualism and self-sufficiency would be the death of me and all those under my care. And thanks be to God that this is so! The Lord has wisely given me weaknesses to keep me tethered to Him. He has struck me with a limp that I might lean upon the shoulders of Fatherly care and brotherly love. God’s strength keeps me from running ahead and his grace keeps me from falling behind.

One thought on “Running the Race in the Middle of the Pack

  1. This is a wonderful post – causing me to stop and think things through. I always look forward to the next one. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

