A Father to Many

Recently, Doug Wilson has been doing some great work on Father Hunger way out there in Moscow, Idaho.

I have been thinking a lot about my own father in the past few days. While he went to be with the Lord several years ago, I still miss him tremendously. One of the many things I loved about my dad was the way he so easily became a second father to many of my friends growing up. That’s not to say that all of them had poor fathers of their own. But there was something about Bob Bailey that drew them in. Our house was the place everyone wanted to come. Maybe it was my dad’s corny jokes. Maybe it was his infectious laugh. Maybe it was his strength and loyalty. Maybe it was just because he didn’t have better things to do than be around with his children and their friends. I think it was a little of all of those things. But the powerful presence and influence of my dad was not so much in what he did, but in who he was. He was a father in the true sense of the word. His words carried weight. His actions were genuine. His motive was love. Father hunger is very real and very devastating. We need more fathers like my dad. I need to be more like him myself. Happy Father’s Day, Dad! I miss you.

Leave a Reply

