Because Silence is NOT an Option

The recent convergence of events in our nation has stirred my pen and keyboard from its slumber. In times such as this, silence is not an option. I add my voice to the conversation for the following reasons:

The earth is the Lord’s and the fullness thereof, the world and those who dwell therein.- Ps.24:1

Yours, O Lord, is the greatness and the power and the glory and the victory and the majesty, for all that is in the heavens and in the earth is yours. Yours is the kingdom, O Lord, and you are exalted as head above all.- 1 Chronicles 29:11

Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom, and your dominion endures throughout all generations.- Psalm 145:13

Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.- Matt. 6:10

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. Therefore, glorify God in your body.- 1 Cor. 6:19-20

Therefore, let us be grateful for receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, and thus let us offer to God acceptable worship, with reverence and awe…-Hebrews 12:28

Tell your children of it, and let your children tell their children, and their children to another generation.- Joel 1:3

To be a Christian means something particular and fundamental. It is not a name that I choose for myself. It is a name that I am baptized into (Mt. 28:19) and receive as a gift from the Triune God (Eph.1:5). To worship God also means something particular and fundamental. It is not defined by good intentions or heart-felt devotion or cultural norms. It is defined by the One being worshiped.

In addition to that, to be a Christian father means that I am to raise up my children as Christians who worship the Triune God rightly and live their lives faithfully by His unchanging, unerring Word.

This is His world. He is in the process of redeeming and restoring what sin has corrupted and marred. We are His people. He has taken our shame and clothed us with glory. The Bible is His Word. He has spoken with absolute authority and perfection. It is not subject to the wisdom and pride of man.

My realm of influence is pretty small. The Lord has given me a voice among a few friends, a wonderful wife, and a bundle of children. It is enough. This is my garden to tend. There are dragons at the gate and wolves within the walls. I will lay down my life, reputation and all, for their sake. I will, by the grace of God, seek to bring every sphere of my little life under the rule of Christ. I will not give up any ground, no matter how insignificant it may seem, because the earth is the Lord’s and its fullness thereof.

Leave a Reply

